Minutes

Short Term Rental Ad Hoc

August 2, 2022

Present: Peter Hopkins, Douglas Hunt, Vanessa McBride, Kim Ten Hoeve, Eric Klimstra, Doug Moore, LeAnne Armano, Wanda Muirhead, Don Gallagher, Leslie Rich.

Community Volunteers: Axy Leighl, Brian Johnson.

Regrets: Howard Sproxton, Owen Lennox

Clarifications (Peter Hopkins)

Please identify yourselves prior to speaking. Moving through the process, there will be a Q & A after clarification completed.

Moved by Vanessa McBride, Seconded by Wanda Muirhead. Carried

Approval of minutes

Moved by Douglas Hunt, Seconded Don Gallagher. Carried

Wanda Muirhead requested information regarding Glenwood Estates rules for renting were different from short term rentals. Douglas Hunt responded that this topic should be answered by sub-committee No. 4.

Business arising from minutes:

(a) Membership was originally approved by council to include 7 to 11members, to date, there are 15 members due to the resignation of Scott Buckingham and no response from Grant Scobey there are 13 members.

Some members will only be resource support to include BLO, CBO, Attorneys, and research data collectors.

Peter will check with council to determine if approval is needed to add additional members. Peter will clarify the voting and non-voting membership. Also Peter will validate to council and get clarification on what is legal. This is to be completed before the final report goes to council for presentation.

(b) Peter to check into putting a FAQ sheet on the McKellar Website. Emails will continue to be sent by Peter to keep all members informed.

(c) Brian Johnson presented his report on data collected from other municipalities dealing with STR's that work or do not work.

(d) Douglas Hunt divided the committee into 5 working groups;

Group 1 – Public Survey, it was decided to remove this topic due to cost and time management.

Group 2 – Positive and workable solutions. Members are Doug Moore, Eric Klimstra, Owen Lennox, Don Gallagher, LeAnne Armano.

Community Volunteers; Axy Leighl, Brian Johnson.

Group 3 - Educational Process members are Howard Sproxton, LeAnne Armano, Douglas Hunt.

Group 4 - Official Documents and By-Law reviews members are Wanda \Muirhead, LeAnne Armono, Tony Best and Leslie Rich.

Community Volunteer; Axy Leighl.

Group 5 - Complaints, Enforcement, New Zoning, Fines and Exceptions. Committee members, Leslie Rich, Wanda Muirhead, Vanessa McBride.

Each group will decide on leadership. E-mails will be sent to all members on the group e-mail. Due to this being an Ad Hoc, it should be determined with it is a meeting a non-meeting.

Groups will organize and develop actionable items. On completion each group will present to the public for input before presenting to council.

Discussion as to whether meeting every two weeks was feasible. It was agreed August 11, 2022 would be sufficient time.

Questions and Answers:

Jean Kingston. Has any consideration been given to environment and Eco-system with respect to the uniqueness of the shoreline of Lake Manitouwabing?

Brian Johnson responded that Lake Manitouwabing's uniqueness will be closely researched by the environmental group committee. Mr. Johnson emphasized that when comparing to other municipalities, this group will choose those most similar to ours.

Brian's Findings, a presentation from Brian Johnson. Brian spoke on shallow bays on Manitouwabing, tight areas, extra boating, small channel environment, noise travels more. He recommends looking at other municipalities with similar issues.

Discussion as to legality of the OLT, their legal boundaries and our potential roadblocks. Group 4, The Official Documents and By-law will research this matter

Erik Klimstra stated that he supports STRs but within boundaries.

E-mail list is to be kept confidential and not to be shared. Peter will BCC if requested.

Next meeting is August 16, 2022 at 6:30 pm in the Council Chambers.

Meeting adjourned at 7:35 pm.